2013 in Paperbacks

This entry has sat in my phone memory for almost a month now. Yes, I write using my phone, but post via PC.

Collage

One of my favorite authors has this fun section on his site called 30 Minute Reading. At first it seemed to me as a great way to insert literary in a busy schedule. That might be the purpose for this section, I thought. Later, I took it as a challenge–just out of pure fun and curiosity.

I wondered if I’d really be able to finish reading it in 30 seconds. I do remember back from when I was in university that I timed my reading pace to (obsessively conscious with schedules) properly lay out a schedule for my course readings. Heck,I was a disappointment! Whopping 7 to 8 pages in 30 minutes.

Whatever that might imply to my cognitive capacity, I continued reading and here are the stories I’ve read in the latter half of 2013.

1. Winner Stands Alone by Paulo Coehlo
I bought this as a graduation gift to myself, still feeling triumphant after getting my ass through all sorts of academic pressures. The ending was far from what I expected, and reading it made me see some things at a different perspective.

2. PS. I Love You by Cecilia Ahern
My first encounter with Holly and Gerry was with its movie adaptation. I didn’t know there was a book. That was years back so I can vaguely remember the plot, which was all good. I really prefer reading the book before taking on a movie adaptation. I must say this has made into my list of Reading Again and Again. It’s bitter-sweet and very romantic.

3. Tara Road by Maeve Binchy
The first two chapters of this wonder actually gave me a hard time. The narration bored me; I simply cannot get my head around it. I’m glad I persisted. The plot is magical. I never despised a character as much as Rosemary Ryan. Deep within me, I was sincerely hoping she’d turn out as the good,successful best friend–just that–in the end. Oh I hated Danny, too. It really is a good read.

4. Saving Graces by Patricia Gaffney
The story of four lovely women is just really heartwarming and adorable. I think any woman could see herself or her friends in one of the characters. While reading their journey, I prayed for bosom friends of my own. This actually encouraged me to get in touch with my old friends, think hard about abuse and all its forms, and calm dark thoughts.

5. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness
I didn’t expect I’d like this book, but my curiosity got the better of me. Some third person said this was kinda like Twilight. Well, I beg to disagree. Just because it had vampires in a love story doesn’t mean it’s like Twilight. It’s very entertaining, at the same time challenging. The plot mixed magic, science, physics, and history so much so that I had to consult academic books and journals for me to completely grasp every part of the story and..well,just being nerdy me.

Send some love

