Happy birthday to ME!

It isn’t out of the ordinary, really. I know some people think the same way as I do on this point. And, I know that I would only get to have it my way if I live far from home.

Truth of the matter is… I don’t like celebrating my birthday with anyone.

Unfortunately, I don’t see myself getting a ME time this year. I am back in my hometown and the family, as what this house is used to doing, would want to have a celebration. The she’s-crazy-look on their faces when I told them I don’t want a celebration was enough to let me know that I won’t be having it done my way. What was promised to be a simple family dinner has now turned into dinner with invitations. Not to mention, my suggestions for the menu were all rejected. Ha! I don’t see how this is going to be a party for me. But, no hard feelings on my part. I haven’t spent my birthday with them in two years after all.

No, I am not your Mr. Scrooge from A Christmas Carol. I actually love humans and I enjoy parties. Just not on my birthday. I find some kind of serenity with celebrating this important day by myself. There’s a certain joy with not having to bother myself with entertaining people. It doesn’t really matter whether or not I got something special planned out for that day although I’d really love it to be easy breezy. What matters most is for me to enjoy the day, which is only possible if I get to have a full 24-hour ME time.

I still do believe I am entitled to this kind of arrangement. I do believe that this doesn’t make me selfish. The last thing I want on my birthday, and the rest to come, is to be whisked away from one person’s arm to another. For what it’s worth, I’d like to have my birthday all (if not,most of it) to myself.

RoseBorder by MeinLilaPark

source: Puka-Pudge


 
 
Border Image: MeinLilaPark

Send some love

